Home » Our Story » Community Contribution » UTAS Scholarships

UTAS Scholarships

The Fairbrother Foundation formed a partnership with the UTAS Foundation in 2008 to support keen students to undertake an undergraduate degree at the University of Tasmania. Since 2008, the UTAS Foundation has awarded a 3-year Fairbrother Foundation Scholarship to 20 students, enabling many to successfully undertake university study.

To be eligible for a scholarship, a student must have a parent employed by Fairbrother Pty Ltd or Degree C Pty Ltd (an entity owned by Fairbrother) and preferably be entering the first year of their degree. The Fairbrother Foundation Scholarship currently provides recipients with $15,000, spread evenly across 3 years.

The current recipients of the Fairbrother Foundation Scholarship are:

Bianca RussellAnisah YatesIsabella Roberts

Former recipients include:

Samuel BertramMikaela AdamsClaire Weeding
Lily JamesIsaac AlfordMelissa Hawksley
Taylah DicksonOlivia NewlandsEllen Bennett
Timothy CuthbertsonThomas MountneyLuke Webb
Sandon JamesJonathon HainesChristopher Haines
Sarah FrankcombeRebekkah RundleJacinta Butler
Jesse JamesKate MansfieldMontana Barendregt

University of Tasmania RFDS-Fairbrother Foundation First-Year Nursing Scholarship

In 2018, the Fairbrother Foundation partnered with the Royal Flying Doctors Service to offer a $5,000 scholarship to a first year nursing student from an outer regional or remote area of Tasmania. The scholarship includes a one week experience at an RFDS base, either on in Tasmania or interstate.

The 2024 recipient of this Scholarship is Taylor Jones. Past recipients are Sharni Walker (2019), Eve Bell (2020), Justine Barrett (2021), Ericka McKinnon (2022), and Brooklyn Turner (2023).

For more details about the Fairbrother First-Year Nursing Scholarship: